News: Distribution

Search Autoparts/Aftermarket-business/News-distribution/

AWDA names new governors, officers

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 09:00
Print Article

The Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA), a community of the Auto Care Association, announced its newest governors following the group’s 2017 Annual Business and Education Conference at the Automotive Aftermarket Products Expo (AAPEX) in Las Vegas.
As of Nov. 2, Ashlee Arnold, vice president, Arnold Oil Company, Austin, Texas; Arnoldo Ventura, commercial manager, Frontera Radiators & Parts Inc., El Paso, Texas; Garry Castles, president, W M Automotive Warehouse, Inc., Fort Worth, Texas; and Dan Hanson Jr., executive vice president, Hanson Distributing Company, Azusa, Calif., are the newest members to be officially welcomed into the AWDA’s Council of Governors.
Larry Northup, executive director, community engagement, Auto Care Association, and liaison, AWDA, noted that, “These new governors join a long and distinguished line of great leaders that have come through the AWDA Chairs. Their commitment to the industry is inspiring and it’s truly an honor to work with them.”
AWDA’s nominating committee requires that all incoming governors be able to meet the qualifications to serve as chairman, in addition to serving as a member governor on the council. The result of this long-standing policy is a consistent supply of high-quality council members who are interested, engaged and committed to traditional distribution, the auto care industry and the association.

AWDA also announced the election of several new officers to the association’s executive committee who began their terms on Nov. 3.

Mauro Cifelli, vice president, sales & marketing, Vast-Auto Distribution Ltd., Montreal Quebec, has been named AWDA’s vice chairman. Previously, Cifelli served as secretary of AWDA and as a member of the Council of Governors. Cifelli replaces out-going vice chairman, Don Bickle, Jr., president, Warehouse Inc., Hays, Kan.

Moving into the position of secretary is William (“Henry”) Slack, CEO, Slack Auto Parts Co., Gainesville, Ga. Slack served a three-year term on AWDA’s Council of Governors and is active on the Auto Care Association's Emerging Technology Committee.

Tim Trudnowski, president, Automotive Jobbers Supply, Spokane, Wash., has been named AWDA’s in-coming treasurer. Trudnowski, a former AWDA Chairman, follows in the footsteps of long-time treasurer Richard Beirne, Automotive Parts Headquarters. Beirne will remain on the AWDA Executive Committee as treasurer emeritus.

AWDA Chairman Bobby Segal, CEO, Automotive Supply Associates, Concord, N.H., will continue in this position and complete his two-year term in November 2018, whereupon Cifelli will step into the chairman’s position. In order to provide long-term consistency within AWDA’s leadership, both the secretary and treasurer positions are appointed by the board to open-ended terms.

Northup said, “All these individuals have a deep commitment to AWDA and the Auto Care Association, having served in many diverse capacities. The vast institutional and industry knowledge they bring to the table will be invaluable as AWDA deploys its many resources for the benefit of traditional distribution and the auto care industry at large.”  

For more information about AWDA and to view the complete list of AWDA leadership, click here.

Subscribe to Aftermarket Business World and receive articles like this every month….absolutely free. Click here.

Article Categorization
Article Details
< Previous
Next >
blog comments powered by Disqus